You might need a cap job if.......

HIWATT amps from the Hylight Electronics era

Moderator: Mods

User avatar
Dr.HI-TONE
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:51 pm
Location: HIWATT Valley
Contact:

You might need a cap job if.......

Postby Dr.HI-TONE » Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:34 am

They are bulging like this:

Image

Image

Image

Image



Image

Image

Image
http://www.HI-TONE-Amps.com

HI-TONE, when only the best will do.

DR-F

brainstorm
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:21 pm

Postby brainstorm » Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:28 pm

Hello, my name is Biagio and I am italian.
I have several Hywatt amps and I see that caps have problems like this one.
I am trying to find some new caps for my babies, but it looks soooooo hard!
I'd like to find some Mundorf or RS (the first ones look to be the best, the second ones are Hywatt's first choice), but I am not able to do that...
Is there anyone who can tell me where I can find those items?
Thank you very much.
Brainstorm

User avatar
Dr.HI-TONE
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:51 pm
Location: HIWATT Valley
Contact:

Postby Dr.HI-TONE » Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:05 pm

Hi Biagio,

I don't think that RS makes this type anymore.

Being in Italy, you should have access to F&T from Germany or TAD marketed by Tube Amp Doctor.

Good Luck!
http://www.HI-TONE-Amps.com

HI-TONE, when only the best will do.

DR-F

brainstorm
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:21 pm

Postby brainstorm » Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:47 pm

Thanks for your answer.
I'll try and find them and will let you know...
Bye.

Mike B.
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: NYC (Spiritually)

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby Mike B. » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:04 pm

Gad zooks! Now those caps are BULGING! :shock:

Mike
"Nowadays if you're the young man...."

Support Commercial Free Conventions

User avatar
mikhailwatt
Posts: 858
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:46 am
Location: Austin TX

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby mikhailwatt » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:33 pm

Mike B. wrote:Gad zooks! Now those caps are BULGING! :shock:

They must be from Czechoslovakia... trying to "swing successfully." :wink: :lol:
You can almost feel the current flowing
You can almost see the circuits blowing

michael.e
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 10:17 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby michael.e » Fri May 08, 2009 1:50 am

mikhailwatt wrote:
Mike B. wrote:Gad zooks! Now those caps are BULGING! :shock:

They must be from Czechoslovakia... trying to "swing successfully." :wink: :lol:


Heh, good one! I am digging this place. Mucho to learn!

xtoby44x

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby xtoby44x » Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:12 pm

hello all

so I just got my new to me 1974 DR-103 and with the exception to a couple of tubes it all original. the caps do look like the above listed ones. should I not even play the amp till I get it repaired? i went to VHR and saw the cap kits and there are 3 different ones which one is the one for my head? is there anything else i should look into changing on it? played it for 15 Minutes and it sounded amazing and quiet with little to none of tube noise. any help you guys could offer would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,
Bill Z

here are some pics for your viewing pleasure
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Dr.HI-TONE
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:51 pm
Location: HIWATT Valley
Contact:

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby Dr.HI-TONE » Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:48 pm

Nice Rig!!!

It is due for a recap. For a direct replacement of the exact values in your amp you would want the 16+32 kit. However the 32+32 kit will work perfectly well, with little effect on the tone.

Do you see the leaking bulge on the 50+50 cap? It is one of the center caps in the row of four mounted along the midline of the amp.

Recapping is just maintainance that should be done every 12-15 years if the amp is going to be gigged regularly. You might be fine to leave it as is for a while, but you don't want it to fail at an inopportune time.
http://www.HI-TONE-Amps.com

HI-TONE, when only the best will do.

DR-F

xtoby44x

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby xtoby44x » Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:17 pm

Dr.HIWATT wrote:Nice Rig!!!

It is due for a recap. For a direct replacement of the exact values in your amp you would want the 16+32 kit. However the 32+32 kit will work perfectly well, with little effect on the tone.

Do you see the leaking bulge on the 50+50 cap? It is one of the center caps in the row of four mounted along the midline of the amp.

Recapping is just maintainance that should be done every 12-15 years if the amp is going to be gigged regularly. You might be fine to leave it as is for a while, but you don't want it to fail at an inopportune time.


thank you so much DR. HiWATT! I think I'm going to order the 16+32 kit to keep it all original.

User avatar
Progrocker111
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby Progrocker111 » Fri Sep 25, 2009 8:21 am

Hm, at least one of my caps looks very similar. Do you think i need recap too? My amp is dead quiet, no problems at all.
Attachments
DSCN2041.jpg
DSCN2041.jpg (314.64 KiB) Viewed 3411 times

User avatar
mhuss
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:40 am

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby mhuss » Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:24 pm

It depends...

If you're gigging with the amp and need it 100% reliable, I'd say yes.

If you play it once in a while, and it more of a collector's piece, I'd say only if you want to.

IME, those caps still seem to work fine when they start "bulging." However, the place where that is happening is a relief vent, and the bubble indicates the cap is starting to generate gas. This only happens when the aluminum oxide/electrolyte start to break down, and as this deterioration progresses, the cap becomes less and less effective. In an extreme case, the bubble will burst and leave some cap guts in your chassis interior.

--mark

RETSUB007
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby RETSUB007 » Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:16 pm

hi guys your the resident gurus ---so heres the deal -a tech sawpix of my amp my amp, its a 74 dr103 , yeah they have the bubble on top of em.. this amp sounds killer[heaven magic mojo as is!! my guy said im cooking the partridges by leaving dead caps in there , ill do the job , but am wondering if its gonna sound ..even better :shock: ? or omg not as good :cry: .. cause i think thats asking to much , and should i use the stock 16 +32 or go for the 32 +32 kit :?: ? also im a novice , i can solder question is can a novice do this correctly and safely? also someone told me that hiwatts auto drain the caps at shutdown , is that true..., dont wanna find out in the er that the answer was no thanks guys

User avatar
mhuss
Site Admin
Posts: 1354
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:40 am

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby mhuss » Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:52 pm

> my guy said im cooking the partridges by leaving dead caps in there ,
BS

> ill do the job , but am wondering if its gonna sound ..even better :shock: ?
> or omg not as good :cry: .. cause i think thats asking to much ,
Actually, yes. If you notice any change at all, it'll be tighter and stronger. :twisted:

> and should i use the stock 16 +32 or go for the 32 +32 kit :?: ?
I prefer the 32+32, but you'll never hear a difference between the two.

> also im a novice , i can solder question is can a novice do this correctly and safely?
Yes, but it is very difficult to do it neatly (without melting the wire insulation, etc.) if you're a novice.
Perhaps the good Doctor could put up a pictorial/tutorial as he has a clever method and has done a few. :wink:

> also someone told me that hiwatts auto drain the caps at shutdown , is that true.
Yes, that is true. The caps are normally discharged to safe levels in less time than it takes to remove the chassis from the cabinet.

--mark

User avatar
Dr.HI-TONE
Site Admin
Posts: 2626
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:51 pm
Location: HIWATT Valley
Contact:

Re: You might need a cap job if.......

Postby Dr.HI-TONE » Tue Nov 17, 2009 12:57 pm

I will have to see if I have any that need cap jobs.
I would be glad to do something like this if I have a patient and spare time.
http://www.HI-TONE-Amps.com

HI-TONE, when only the best will do.

DR-F


Return to “Hylight era Amps”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest